Katie’s Story

Why do I do hair?

 

For those of you who knew me when I was younger, the thought of me doing hair is extremely laughable!  Picture this: young Katie Steller, extremely chubby and rocking the bowl cut/mullet. Over-sized star wars t-shirt and not a care in the world.  I did not care about my appearance, let alone my hair! 

 

When I was 10 years old I started to get really sick, after a year of multiple doctors visits, tests and icky medicine, I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis. Little did I know, God would use this diagnosis to change my life.

 

After 7 years of trying to find a treatment (having to drop out of my high school twice, couldn’t play the sports I loved, couldn’t do a lot of things a normal teenager could do), my doctor said we were out of options. I had to have my entire colon removed.

It’s funny to think back to this time because, even though it was scary, I knew I was taken care of.

 

A few weeks before my surgery, my mom noticed that I had been losing a lot of hair and I was feeling really discouraged about it (as if having to go to the bathroom every ten minutes wasn’t embarrassing enough!!). She took me to Amy White, who was a dear friend that had a salon in her basement.  Amy opened my eyes to what a blessing Hair Stylists are. She cared for me from my heart to my hair, and it was at that point that I knew I wanted to be able to do that for people. She helped me feel beautiful.

 

After my surgery I had a very long recovery in front of me, I was unable to go to college in the fall. I remember my mom asking me “what do you want to do” and I immediately answered “I want to go to Aveda and learn to do hair”. I started at Aveda in December of 2008.

 

While I was at Aveda I put everything I had into learning how to do hair to the best of my ability (I wasn’t naturally good at it, especially since I was such a tomboy growing up). I worked harder than I ever have, because I knew this was what I was suppose to do. I was extremely competitive and strove to win every competition and bench mark.

 

Halfway through my schooling at Aveda, I was working an event at the Back to the 50’s car show (we were giving hand massages to extremely sweaty people), when my intestine twisted.  I had to go to the hospital where they performed emergency surgery to cut all the adhesions that resulted from my surgery. This is one of the closest times I have come to dying. I was in the hospital for 14 days and had to take a 7 week leave from Aveda.  This crushed me. 

 

While I was sick, my classmates and all of the Aveda institute came to my support.  They had fundraisers to help raise money for my medical bills, as well as worked with me to make sure I could finish school and get my license. Without their help I would not have been able to make it through (so if any of you are reading this, your support changed my life. Thank you).

Because of taking my leave, when I came back I was with a new class.  If this had not happened I wouldn’t have met this cute boy who turned out to be the man that I later married and am now starting a salon with! Everything happens for a reason, bad things are important to help us realize our calling and shape us into the people we become.

 

 Mike and I have experienced both salons and educating, and now we are ready to take our next step and start a salon that reflects why we are in this industry. Our hope is that our salon can bless people the way Amy White blessed me.

 

Thank you for your support, we look forward to doing your hair!!

Much love, Katie

 

Please consider supporting us at www.indiegogo.com/stellerhairco 🙂

Image

4 thoughts on “Katie’s Story

  1. You have come a long way, my little lightsaber-swishing, legolas-look-alike, Childrens’ Hospital Hero!! I am thrilled the dreams you and Mike have had to glorify God with your wonderful gifts are coming true!! You are amazing!!

    Love,

    Your Mom!

    ….if only I had known about the tattoo fundraiser……..

  2. Geez I just emailed you guys I came across your indie gogo campaign and owning a salon has been a dream of mines forever but I got nice and cozy into the 9-5. I’m chatty so I’ll keep it short, I’m beginning to believe God has lead me to learn about your business, and my idea of just ownership will be squashed. I let my license expire some years ago because while I may do hair on occasion (once a stylist always a stylist:)) I really didn’t have the desire to get back behind the chair and it may just be for me to own but this does make me mindful to pray and know for sure this isn’t what God is calling me back to. One reason I’ve always wanted to own is for the very things you’ve mentioned here but I just planned to hire those that could carry it out…we shall see:)

  3. BEAUTIFUL STORY, great view on life. Wish you the best.

    I am moving to Minneapolis and hope to stop in to your salon as soon as I get a chance.

Leave a Reply

